Artist in Residence

This is my first day as the Leverhulme-funded artist in residence at the Department of Archaeology, University of Sheffield. I’ve mostly spent the day doing admin and meeting with Bob Johnston to arrange my contributions to the MA in Landscape Archaeology. I’ll be contributing to his course by discussing record photography, developing a short non-assessed assignment on using photographs to evoke a sense of place and talking about my work on the Stonehenge Riverside Project. I’m also hoping to contribute to Roger Doonan’s MSc courses on Archaeomaterials and Experimental Archaeology.

It is strange to be back at the Department as a photographic artist. I studied archaeology here in the early 1990s when I did the single MA offered – in Archaeology and Prehistory. I then did a PhD on landscape archaeology in the Peak District about seven year ago. It is since then I have developed my practice as a photographer. This means I do have a foot in the archaeological camp and hope this will give me the insight I need to represent the essence of archaeological practice through photography.

About Bill Bevan

Bill Bevan is an archaeologist, writer, photographer and heritage interpreter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

